Members of The St. John's College Library Associates Committee:

Mr. Richard Martin Stern Mrs. McIntosh Buell Mrs. Dale Bullock Mrs. Burton Dwyre Dr. Murray M. Friedman Miss Greer Garson Mrs. Alexander Girard Mr. Maxwell Hahn Dr. G.B. Harrison Mr. Walter Kerr Dr. Rudolph Kieve Mr. Robert W. Kurth Mrs. Joseph C. McKibbin Mrs. Al Momaday Mr. Stanley Noyes Mrs. O.R. Sellers Mrs. Edgar Tobin Miss Amelia Elizabeth White Honorary Chairman

The design and the selection of the second s Mrs. Alice H. Whelan, Librarian

BOOK AND AUTHOR LUNCHEON

La Fonda

November 12, 1971

Today's Speakers

ELIOT PORTER

is internationally known for his outdoor color photography and books on conservation, including The Place No One Knew: Glen Canyon, Baja California, Galapagos, Down the Colorado, and In Wildness is the Preservation of the World, among others. He is working on four more. His photographs also have been exhibited in leading museums around the country.

E. BOYD

attended the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts and the Academie de la Grande Chaumiere of Paris, painting and studying art history. After moving to New Mexico she became intensely interested in New Mexican santos. Miss Boyd has written for numerous art and historical publications, and she has a comprehensive book on Spanish New Mexican arts and crafts in the works npw.

STAN STEINER

is best known as the author of The New Indians and La Raza: The Mexican Americans. He currently is writing a television documentary on the Black Mesa controversy and is editing three anthologies of La Raza, Indian and Puerto Rican literature. Mr. Steiner spent 20 years traveling around the country and getting to know the people in his books before he started writing about them.

222

The St. John's College Library Associates Committee thanks you on behalf of the students, faculty and staff of St. John's for your interest and support. We are grateful also to the thirty-nine speakers who have given of their time and themselves to these noontime programs since they started three years ago. We already have four authors committed to the 1972 spring series and we hope to see you there too —— April 14 and May 12.