- 1921 Establishment of the "general council" formed due to discovery of oil within the boundaries of the Original Treaty Reservation. This Navajo council was composed of 3/4 of the adult male population of the Tribe.
- 1922 A "business council" composed of Chee Dodge, Charlie
 Mitchell and Dugal Chee Bekiss acted on behalf of the
 Tribe in negotiation of oil and gas leases.
- 1923 The first Navajo Tribal Council was elected in 1923, and held its first meeting on July 7, 1923.

OFFICERS OF THE NAVAJO TRIBAL COUNCIL

Dates	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
1923-28	Chee Dodge	None
1928-32	Deshna Chischillige	Maxwell Yazzie
1932-36	Thomas Dodge	Marcus Kanuho
1937-38	Henry Taliman	Roy Kinsel
1938-42	Jacob C. Morgan	Howard Gorman
1942-46	Chee Dodge	Sam Ahkeah
1946-50	Sam Ahkeah	Zhealy Tso
1950-54	Sam Ahkeah	Adolph Maloney
1955-62	Paul Jones	Scott Preston
1963-	Raymond Nakai	Nelson Damon

MEMBERS OF THE NAVAJO TRIBAL COUNCIL

Chairman

Vice-Chairman

3 Delegates, 3 Alternates - San Juan Jurisdiction (Shiprock)

2 Delegates, 2 Alternates - Western Navajo Jurisdiction (Tuba City)

4 Delegates, 4 Alternates - Navajo Jurisdiction (Window Rock)

1 Delegate , 1 Alternate from Pueblo Bonito, Leupp, Moqui Jurisdictions.